Jorge Camarotti

Jorge Camarotti
Jorge Camarotti

Trailblazer Awards
Reelworld Film Festival

Ousmane
Winners - Best Drama - Aspen Shorsfest 2022
Gagnants - Best Narrative short film - Boston Short Film Festival
Nomination - Canadian Screen Awards / Prix Écrans Canadiens 2022
Official selection at Tiff
Official Competition 2021 - Festival du nouveau cinéma de Montréal
Selection for the Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival
Official selection at Siff (Seattle International Film Festival)

Nominations -Jury Idéa
Craft category, 2022

Nominations - Canadian Screen Awards 2022
Short film Ousmane

Awards - Kinship
Director of the year, Gala Dynastie 2020
Best Short Film, Canada Chine International Film Festival, 2019
Favorite, Regard International Film Festival, 2019
Quebec Gold, Prends ça court/Air Canada, 2019

Nominations - Kinship
Best Canadian Live Action Film, Canadian Screen Awards 2020
Palm Springs Film Festival 2019, nominated in the following: Best of the Festival Award, Best North American Short, Best Live-Action Short Over 15 Minutes and nominated with 11 shorts to compete for the Local Jury Award

Prix Crea 2018
Parkinson Québec - Unisson (Sid Lee)

Jorge Camarotti

Photographer, director and screenwriter, Jorge was born into a working-class family in Sao Paulo, Brazil. In 2003, he moved to Montreal, where he pursued a career as a professional photographer and then as a filmmaker. In 2017, he published a book, Mile-End Chronicles, a collection of over 10 years of photographic portraits documenting the lives and stories of immigrants living in Montreal.

Since his film debut six years ago, Jorge has made a dozen short films, both documentary and fiction, always remaining true to his commitment to giving a voice to the most aggrieved people in our society.

Jorge wrote and directed Kinship (2019), which was selected in many renowned film festivals such as Palm Springs International, Maryland, Clermont-Ferrand (Sodec), Regard and received a nomination at the 2020 Canadian Screen Awards for Best Live Action Film. In 2021, Jorge directed the short film Ousmane, which was selected at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) and the Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival. Finally, he won the "Best Drama" award at the prestigious Aspen Shortsfest, which qualifies him for an Oscar® pre-selection. In addition, Jorge was recently an education advisor and mentor in Being Black in Canada, all presented by Netflix.

"I would like to continue to explore the lack of voice for the most vulnerable people in our society. I want to address this issue head-on, based on my own experience as an immigrant, and I hope to bring food for thought to the viewer."

© Romeo 2020

Jorge Camarotti

Jorge Camarotti
Jorge Camarotti

Trailblazer Awards
Reelworld Film Festival

Ousmane
Gagnants - Best Drama - Aspen Shorsfest 2022
Gagnants - Best Narrative short film - Boston Short Film Festival
Nomination - Canadian Screen Awards / Prix Écrans Canadiens 2022
Sélection officiel au Tiff
Compétition officielle 2021 - Festival du nouveau cinéma de Montréal
Sélection Festival du Court Métrage Clermont-Ferrand
Sélection officielle au Siff (Seattle International Film Festival)

Nomination -Jury Idéa
Categorie craft, 2022

Nomination - Prix Écrans Canadiens 2022
Court métrage Ousmane

Prix - Kinship
Réalisateur de l'année, Gala Dynastie 2020
Meilleur court métrage, Canada Chine International Film Festival, 2019
Coup de coeur, Regard International Film Festival, 2019
Quebec Gold, Prends ça court/Air Canada, 2019

Nominations - Kinship
Best Canadian Live Action Film, Canadian Screen Awards 2020
Palm Springs Film Festival 2019, nominé dans les catégories suivantes : Best of the Festival Award, Best North American Short, Best Live-Action Short Over 15 Minutes et nominé avec 11 courts métrages pour le Local Jury Award

Prix Crea 2018
Parkinson Québec - Unisson (Sid Lee)

Jorge Camarotti

Photographe, réalisateur et scénariste, Jorge est né dans une famille ouvrière de Sao Paulo, au Brésil. En 2003, il s'est installé à Montréal, où il a poursuivi une carrière de photographe professionnel, puis de cinéaste. En 2017, il a publié un livre, Mile-End Chronicles, une collection de portraits photographiques de plus de 10 ans qui documente la vie et les histoires des immigrants vivant à Montréal.

Depuis ses débuts au cinéma il y a six ans, Jorge a réalisé une douzaine de courts métrages, tant documentaires que de fiction, en restant toujours fidèle à son engagement de donner la parole aux personnes les plus lésées de notre société.

Jorge a écrit et réalisé Kinship (2019), qui a été sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals de cinéma réputés tels que Palm Springs International, Maryland, Clermont-Ferrand (Sodec), Regard et qui a reçu une nomination aux Canadian Screen Awards 2020 pour le meilleur film en direct. En 2021, Jorge réalise le court-métrage Ousmane, qui a été sélectionné au Festival international du film de Toronto (TIFF) et au Festival du court-métrage Clermont-Ferrand. Finalement, il a remporté le prix du « Best Drama » au prestigieux Aspen Shortsfest, ce qui le qualifie pour une pré-sélection aux Oscars®. De plus, Jorge a récemment été education advisor and mentor dans Being Black in Canada, le tout présenté par Netflix.

«J’aimerais continuer à explorer le manque de voix pour les personnes les plus vulnérables de notre société. Habitée par ma propre expérience d'immigrant, je veux aborder ce sujet de front et j'espère apporter de la matière à réflexion au spectateur.»

© Romeo 2020